The State of Indiana has established academic standards that clearly outline what students should know and be able to do at each grade level.

At all grade levels the study of language arts includes:

  • Reading: Word Recognition, fluency, and Vocabulary Development
  • Reading: Comprehension and Analysis of Nonfiction and Informational Text
  • Reading: Comprehension and Analysis of Literary Text
  • Writing: Processes and Features
  • Writing: Applications (Different Types of Writing and Their Characteristics)
  • Writing: English Language Conventions
  • Listening and Speaking: Skills, Strategies, and Applications
  • Reading/Language Arts: K-3 HoughtonMifflin Harcourt,Journeys ©2014 Catholic Identity edition
  • READY Reading Curriculum Associates:     grade 4 grade 5 
                                                            grade 6     grade 7     grade 8
  • Vocabulary: 6-8 Sadlier Vocabulary Workshop
  • Handwriting: K-4 Handwriting Without Tears