The State of Indiana has established academic standards that clearly outline what students should know and be able to do at each grade level.

At all grade levels the study of social studies includes:

  • History
  • Civics and Government
  • Geography
  • Economics

There is a focus in the following grades:

  • Grade 4 - Indiana History
  • Grade 5 - United States
  • Grade 6 - Europe and Western Hemisphere
  • Grade 7 - Africa, Asia, Southwest Pacific
  • Grade 8 - United States

Textbooks used and links to the publishers' websites for additional resources are:

Social Studies K-5 Pearson Education Scott Foresman ©2003

Social Studies 6-7 Pearson My World Geography Eastern and Western Hemispheres ©2015

Social Studies 8 Pearson American History: Beginnings to Reconstruction ©2015

St. Charles Social Studies